An Unpredictable Scene

Truth is everywhere. God is always speaking. And as long as we are tuned in, we won’t miss Him. My radar seems to be picking up on the mysteries that lie underneath the tangible reality that I  physically live in. In the streets of London, to ripping off wall paper, and in the midst of feeling unwell…….God…… He is speaking.

My dearest sister and friend Melissa A and her daughter D came to visit from the states. How do I describe this time together in a few words……Rich, Full, Inspiring, Convicting. We just happened to be staying in London for the weekend- the same weekend that the opening ceremonies and Olympics started.

We found ourselves wandering into a cafe in Notting Hill. The place emptied out quickly when we heard all the commotion in the road. The torch was getting ready to pass by and at random we were given the chance to see it. I must admit I wasn’t into the  hype with the Olympics at first. What I did pick up in the city of London was the spirit of unity. Among nations, cultures, and language. I loved the aroma of one-ness that  permeated the streets. Everyone was from everywhere and everyone belonged. It was understood that most people were there for a common cause, a common goal. To lift the games high.

I start to dream.

What if the church- the people of God came together like this?  What if everyone was there to lift the name of Christ high? What if everyone from every nation felt accepted and that they belonged? What if the church came together like this and spread an aroma that set the world on fire? The aroma of Hosanna, the message that Jesus saves. And that very message transcends barriers of language, tradition and culture. I am more than certain heaven will look like this.

My sensitivity to the spirit kicked into overdrive that afternoon. While others were taking  photos of famous tourist attractions and “must-see” sights, I felt compelled to look for hidden message that spoke truth.

“Inspire a generation-Tell us your sweet story-Where you are, that is home-Inspire, beautiful, free-It’s a marathon not a sprint- Grow your potential with those who practice what they preach.”

The icing on the cake was during the opening  ceremonies as we watched from our hotel room- they chose a group of young  people to carry the flame to end. As the light was transferred from the older athletes to the younger ones and they began to run, my heart burst inside my chest and tears started to form. All I could see was this generation of young people running with the flame, with the light, will set this nation of fire for Him. I sat   deep in the conviction of what a responsibility we all have to pass on the light and I hope we are being faithful in doing that.

Switching gears. Last week I ripped the wallpaper down off the walls of my room. It was therapeutic. And it didn’t come down in an orderly fashion. Big strips here, long strips there. Something about this was liberating and freeing. This idea of new blank walls, to create, to put color on. How many nights I went to sleep thinking of what it could look like. Right now it looks like a construction zone and well…..that is because it is. I can’t get over though how great it feels to get rid of the old and start over new and then my heart gravitates to ,

“The faithful love of the Lord never ends! 
His mercies never cease.
  Great is his faithfulness;
his mercies begin afresh each morning.
  I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance;
therefore, I will hope in him!” Lamentations 3:22-24

Every morning He starts over with us.

Switching to the final gear. I went to a youth event last week and there were 11,000 young  people camping out and over 700 hundred joined the family of God. What a blessing it was to see the young people from Bloxham worshipping in complete and total abandonment. Some jumping around and some on their faces. It was a moment I was reminded of why I love what I do and why I do it. During the week a cough developed in my chest. I went in with just a tickle in the back of my throat and left with anti-biotics. I sat with the nurse and she said, “You’ve taken the medicine, now you have to be patient and let it work in your system. You have to trust the process.”

My spirit opened up as she spoke and I felt the Lord speaking to me in her words. I went back to the tent, with moisture in the air and an inflatable mattress and thought Lord, I am past my limits. I know I am an adult but in that moment all I wanted was my  mom. Her very presence would have been enough.  The next day my brain started to make connections from the previous night and all I could do was think of the verse in James,” humbly accept the word God has planted in your hearts, for it has the power to save your souls.”

It was like the medicine was put into my system to restore me. physically. The word is planted in my life to restore me and sometimes I expect the restoration to happen instantly. But that is not how it works. It has to take root and spread. I just have to lean in and trust the process. And for the young people this week, seeds have been  planted and as those seeds take root, growth and transformation will happen.

If you are still with me you will see that I write this with no flow or order. In fact, these stories may seem like a bunch of random events. Well that is exactly what they are.  I find that life is made up of unpredictable situations and scenarios that I don’t plan but events I stumble upon. It is unpredictable to us but not to God for He is in them, behind the scenes working His voice and presence to the surface desperate to reveal himself to us. If only we would just take notice.

And well I want to be tuned in. I wan’t to see him. What truth do our moments hold for us?

This entry was published on August 14, 2012 at 4:22 pm and is filed under My Journey. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

