Defining moments in a Village

Kairos moments.

Moments of opportunity that are life defining.  A particular moment in time which may be the ideal moment of fulfilling a particular quest or need. An appointed time in the purpose of God.  Moments that are presented  that will determine which way life will go and into what direction.

We are presented with these moments all the time. Our lives are the total sum of these moments.  Every moment counts, every response matters for the greater picture, the bigger story of our lives and what our lives represented while we lived them.

I sit here, at the local bread and milk shop. Cappuccino on the right, bible on the left.  I’m taking in the fresh cheeses, the fine wines, pastry’s and cakes, the fresh coffees in this quaint little place. Where I look out the window and I see in my viewing range stone cottages that look like they have been there forever. The vines growing up the sides of these cottages make this village Bloxham, a picturesque place where if I didn’t know better, I would be living out a scene of a movie. I came across a quote this morning that says, “The two most important days of your life are the day you were born and the day
you find out why.”

I sit here and know why I was a born.  I am walking in what I was born for. To be in relationship with God, my Father and to extend His love to the world.  As much as I wish I could take credit for my anything in my life or being able to live out my dreams , I cannot. I am capable of no such thing.  It is only by Him and from Him, for every good gift comes from Him. I recognize all the kairos moments that got me to this moment in time.

I have had a lot of these moments in the past two week being between two different conferences.  At the ICY conference I sat through my lectures, worshipped with my brother s and sisters from all across Europe, shared hearts and shared vision of how God is at work in our lives but also in the lives of the people we know. We sat and dreamed of all that God is going to do in 2012 in our hearts but how that work will impact and change the world for eternity.  A bunch of youth leaders standing together on the gospel, passionate about mission.

The second conference was where Baptist ministers and team leaders met together to seek God’s face, enter into His presence, to be refreshed, and to share vision for the nation. It was this question of God how are you at work in this land? How do we together, in unity stand in that, yield to it, surrender to it rather than trying to come up with our own clever ideas.  This was such an amazing way to get integrated into the leadership team with leaders from Bloxham.  It was a time of worship, praise, prayer, and the sharing of our stories with one another. So intimate that feeling like family already within the team is something that has been magnified so much over that week.  I am so grateful to be a part of this team and there is great anticipation of all that God is going to do in these next few weeks, months and years as a result of this time shared.  I get carried away even thinking about it. I am a bit of a dreamer.

The theme running through both of these conferences. God working in our hearts to transform this nation and the rest of the world. But it also comes with the recognition that it starts with us.  Our intimacy with the Father and everything flows from out of that place. I only desire it to come from that place because I believe that that genuineness is what creates the ability to impact.  Our hearts as leaders need to be open to all that God is doing, to all that He saying into who we are as individuals. As His son’s and daughters first and foremost, and then to step into the roles in which He has called us to. This isn’t something for just leaders either. Our identity should always be from who we are in Him and not about what we do for Him.

When we meet with God it has to ability to change thousands of lives.  Waking up and saying the world is going to be different today because I met with God is something I long to do. To go a day without this is not okay for me. It runs that deep. I don’t want to feel like I woke up and missed divine opportunities.   The kairos moments that we are given, opportunities to meet with our Maker, and then to walk the path He is calling us to walk. Every moment counts, every act of obedience counts because it has this ability to change the world in which live. I think we see them as separate. How does my relationship with God impact the people around me? Or somehow we are deceived that it doesn’t. The two are linked together and cannot be separated.

Think about this…… in the past six months what choices have you made that you would consider kairos moments, God ordained and orchestrated decisions that He has desired you to walk in and you took Him up on the offer? How has your life changed? How full do you feel?

I think back on who God has orchestrated coming into my life and who He has shifted out. I reflect on Him calling me into choices of reckless obedience, knowing that there was and is temporal pain but the result is greater.  Knowing more of who Christ is in my life. Therefore I choose not to settle. I cannot compromise any longer. For He is my joy and nothing can be substituted for that.

I am thankful, my heart is full, and I keep my eyes fixed on all the kairos moments that He places before me daily and pray I have the strength and the ability to walk in all His purposes for me. May this be our goal over the next year.

“Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what will be has not yet been made known.”

“The experts of our day haven’t a clue about what this eternal plan is. If they had, they wouldn’t have killed the Master of the God-designed life on a cross. That’s why we have this Scripture text:

No one’s ever seen or heard anything like this,
Never so much as imagined anything quite like it—
What God has arranged for those who love him.
But you’ve seen and heard it because God by his Spirit has brought it all out into the open before you.

The Spirit, not content to flit around on the surface, dives into the depths of God, and brings out what God planned all along. Who ever knows what you’re thinking and planning except you yourself? The same with God—except that he not only knows what he’s thinking, but he lets us in on it. God offers a full report on the gifts of life and salvation that he is giving us.”

Cry of my heart:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-kLC0LQaaQ

This entry was published on January 13, 2012 at 6:20 pm and is filed under My Journey. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

